Skip to content

Japanese Garden

May 14, 2012

Japanese gardens inspire tranquility in me. Unfortunately I have no money to travel to Japan or to have a Japanese garden in my backyard, but I have recently discovered this setting in the center of San Francisco which seems like a perfect place to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon.

It all started with Makoto Hagiwara, an immigrant gardener from Japan. He and his family maintained the Japanese Tea Garden until 1942 when they had to leave the city together with other Japanese American families. The place is currently open daily from 9AM to 6PM. I took these pictures some weeks ago when we spent a few hours there, walking, relaxing and having some delicious tea. The water of the lake was like a mirror. The first and second pics in this post are the reflexion in the water.

Los jardines y, en general, todo lo relacionado con la cultura japonesa me inspira tranquilidad. Por desgracia no tengo dinero para viajar a Japón o para tener un jardín japonés en el patio de mi casa, pero he descubierto recientemente esta sitio en el centro de San Francisco que parece ser el lugar perfecto para una tarde soleada de domingo.

Todo comenzó con Makoto Hagiwara, un jardinero inmigrante de Japón. Él y su familia mantuvieron el “Japanese Tea Garden” de San Francisco hasta 1942 cuando tuvieron que salir de la ciudad junto con otras familias de japoneses inmigrantes. En la actualidad, el lugar está abierto diariamente de 9am a 6pm. Hice estas fotos hace unas semanas que pasamos un par de horas por allí, paseando, relajándonos y tomando buen té. Las dos primeras fotos son un reflejo en el agua del lago.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 2:26 am

    I like your pictures…i enjoy going out with my camera…i hope you can visit my site..i am a beginner on this but i have some pictures up. Take care and good night.

    • May 22, 2012 10:14 pm

      Hi, I like your blog and pictures a lot. Thanks for stopping by my blog and making a comment.

  2. May 26, 2012 4:29 pm

    My own blog explores a lot about Eastern philosophy. And thus these images inspire me, thank you.

  3. Sol permalink
    June 8, 2012 3:40 am

    Anita, me encanta la primera foto que has hecho en lago del Tea Garden, te ha quedado preciosa !! me como ha quedado en blanco y negro.

  4. June 11, 2012 5:07 pm

    Lovely. Please check out my blog entitled “the path ahead”, I think that you will enjoy it.😉

  5. June 11, 2012 9:32 pm

    I was in a Japanese garden yesterday in DUNDEE of all places – it was very peaceful like in your photographs – a veritable haven.

  6. June 11, 2012 9:47 pm

    great eye.

  7. June 20, 2012 5:24 pm

    Thanks for sharing this serene garden. Beautiful.

  8. June 20, 2012 8:19 pm

    The first capture is AMAZING. I’d use Photoshop to erase the woman in the bottom right hand corner, develop it in a large size and hang it on the wall.

  9. June 20, 2012 9:15 pm

    I really like your photography, gives me a lot and makes me want to visit these places someday. What camera do you use?

    Well, I will continue checking your space, greetings from Chile, the world’s end

Leave a Reply

