Skip to content

My first portrait

August 21, 2012

This is my first portrait ever (just for fun).
It was very late and quite dark when the photo was taken so it’s been very difficult to increase the color and to get rid of some of the noise without losing a lot of detail.
I’ve been working with GIMP and I’d like to try lightroom this week to see the differences. I’ll keep you posted.
Any comment/suggestion is welcome. Thanks!

FirstPortrait

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2012 3:34 pm

    Lovely photo, very clear.

  2. August 21, 2012 7:47 pm

    i like it. i recommend lightroom if only for your photo organization. i can’t imagine my workflow without it. it definitely helps with noise and general photo-editing. so it’s a must have in my book. keep shooting.

  3. August 22, 2012 1:37 am

    Looks great! I must admit I didn’t even know GIMP was still under development- I think I’ll give it a try. As far as the noise, I would like to see it with some additive noise/grain. Lightroom, Photoshop ACR or something like Noise Ninja will get rid of the color noise like magic.

    • August 22, 2012 4:14 am

      Thank you Lorrin. I think GIMP gives you a lot of options and it’s a great free tool, but I believe it has some limitations and I wasn’t very excited with the results. I’ll try what you recommend. Thank you so much!!

  4. August 22, 2012 2:39 am

    Oh !! is she your sister? very pretty girl :)) let me check it out in Lightroom. I will let you know. xoxo

    • August 22, 2012 4:15 am

      Yes! Sol, I got your image! Thank you. We have to talk more about that.
      Ana

  5. orchid permalink
    August 22, 2012 4:56 am

    pretty, pretty!

  6. globaldruginfo permalink
    August 23, 2012 4:15 am

    The focus is on your face….Its clear and nice expression !!!!

Trackbacks

  1. My first portrait (part II) « Views from Clarendon Heights

Leave a Reply

