Skip to content

Cleaning my memory card… A congress in Chicago

September 8, 2012

I was going to talk about something totally different today but then I turned on my camera, looked at all these old pictures and thought that it is definitely time to clean my memory card a little. So today I’m talking about a trip that I made to Chicago for a congress a few months ago.

IMG_3350-2

Sears Towers in Chicago, from the apartment where I stayed

IMG_3346

Sears Towers in Chicago, from the apartment where I stayed

The first thing I wanted to mention is that if you haven’t yet used airbnb you should really consider taking a look at it next time you travel. Seriously.
I used airbnb for the first time for this trip to Chicago and it’s actually a great way to find cheap and amazing accommodations in the best location of the city, and you might even be lucky enough to also meet some awesome people. So for this conference I decided to save some money on the hotel and stay in an apartment that happened to have these amazing views that I’m showing in the first two photos. Not bad, eh?
 
IMG_3365

IMG_3377

This was my second time in Chicago and I loved it even more than the first one. Chicago is one of the cities that is on my list of possible places to live in the future.
Matt and I talk about leaving the Bay Area, mainly because we are so far away from our families. When we talk about other possible places to live, we always discuss going back to Europe (but it would be difficult to start our careers over there right now), or going to live in New York City, closer to Matt’s family, (but there, we wouldn’t be able to have the quality of life that we have in San Francisco).
Chicago is another possibility that I consider. It’s big enough for us, it’s a little closer to family (maybe not that much closer to my family), and it has this atmosphere that, at least for me, is similar to the atmosphere in some big cities in Europe (as much as people always talk about the resemblance between San Francisco and European cities, I still cannot see that).
 
IMG_3371

Here’s a little sample of my trip to Chicago. Those were 4 intense days of conferences so I didn’t have much time for pictures but I’m glad I missed the last few hours of the congress to relax and go to explore the city!
Have a good night and a wonderful weekend everybody!
 

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2012 2:53 pm

    Cities are usually my thing, although I am becoming interested with all the interesting street photography I am seeing – but I love your city shots – great compositions, really very nice.

    • September 8, 2012 2:56 pm

      Thank you for you comment! Really appreciated. I’m glad that I discovered your blog. You have very beautiful photography. Congratulations!

  2. September 8, 2012 3:50 pm

    Great photos, and interesting information. Feel as if I can see the city and its sights through your camera.

    • September 8, 2012 4:49 pm

      Thank you Chris. I’m very glad you like it. Cheers,
      Ana

  3. quite simply permalink
    September 9, 2012 12:48 am

    The sky is brilliant in first shot… these are really good and thanks for your positive comments on my blog🙂

  4. Alain Alexandre Foutrier permalink
    September 9, 2012 4:02 am

    Tres belle photos surtout ce ciel harmonie de cette ville

  5. September 9, 2012 5:07 pm

    Chicago !! I love it !! I have been there 10 years ago..I have go again. Anyway, I know airbnb(its really helpful and cool). Great views from the city !! Keep shooting my friend !!

  6. September 11, 2012 3:59 pm

    The pictures are lovely an bring out the magnificence of the structures. The little bird is an interesting contrast.

    Enjoyed mt first visit.

  7. September 12, 2012 7:07 pm

    Beautiful shots of my hometown! Still love it!

  8. September 14, 2012 6:34 am

    Your portrayal through your photos of the USA’s most beautiful city scape is splendid!

  9. September 18, 2012 1:57 pm

    I like Chicago a lot, mostly because every single meal I’ve ever eaten there has been one of the best of my life. I’m not so keen on the public transport though.

  10. September 21, 2012 3:21 am

    Nice Photos…

  11. September 25, 2012 3:09 am

    Great photography! Chicago is like home for me (my family lives just outside of the city) and I am amazed at how these photographs capture the beautiful architecture of the city

Trackbacks

  1. One year old + Happy New Year « Views from Clarendon Heights

Leave a Reply

