Skip to content

My first portrait (part II)

September 25, 2012

A few weeks ago, I talked a little about my experience editing a portrait with GIMP. Later, my friend Sol worked on the same photo a little more with Lightroom and got nicer results:

sister

Portrait edited in Lightroom by Sol, http://loveforpema.wordpress.com

Due to that and the comments that some of you left in the post, I decided to start using Lightroom and, a few weeks later, I’m totally addicted to it. This program provides me with every tool I need for photography editing and it salvages photos that otherwise I would have thrown away. This is an example of a photo that was totally crap, but I’ve been working with (What do you think?):

lightroom_edition

New portrait edited in Lightroom

I’m going to keep GIMP in my computer for now because I believe GIMP and Lightroom can complement one another (GIMP has many of the functions of Photoshop).
 
I won’t make any negative comments about GIMP because I don’t have the experienced to critic it. Also, I’ve realized that GIMP works better in a Windows platform and I use Mac (GIMP works through X11 in Mac). There are, for example, some important pluggings that you can download for GIMP, but they only work in Windows (I think), so I wasn’t able to explore GIMP properly.

If there is somebody who has more experience, negative or positive, with GIMP, please let us know what you think. As I said, I’m going to keep using it for now, so I’ll keep you updated.

I hope you started the week well!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 5:04 pm

    Result is awesome.

  2. thefotobird permalink
    September 25, 2012 11:40 pm

    Nicely done!

  3. September 26, 2012 1:48 am

    Great !! Nice to heard about that….welcome to Lightroom’s world !!.
    I really love the second portrait of your sis !! well done !!. Me gusta muchisimo el segundo retrato de tu hermana, ella sale guapisima, la luz y el detalle del clarinete me encanta..un beso amiga.

  4. September 26, 2012 1:54 am

    Ana, no dejo de pensar en el segundo retrato, es una belleza, es retro, natural e interesante…sigue asi..Andy and I were very impressed :))

  5. September 29, 2012 6:57 am

    picture perfect!

  6. October 3, 2012 10:03 am

    If you can get your hands on some of the professional Photoshop Actions set, it will help save you a lot of time. But then again Lightroom is good too.

Trackbacks

  1. One year old + Happy New Year « Views from Clarendon Heights

Leave a Reply

